Watts New

Contact Info

(246) 626-9000

Customer Service:
(246) 626-4300

(246) 626-1800

(246) 228-1396

  Watts New  
Supervisor of the Year, Paula Pitt (Left) and Employee of the Year, Kathyanne Chase (right) with Managing Director, Andrew Gittens (centre)

When the curtain came down on The Barbados Light & Power Co Ltd.'s 19th Annual Awards Ceremony at the Frank Collymore Hall on January 31, 2004, a total of 218 awards had been presented for customer service, job performance, long service and outstanding results in Safety, Total Quality and Attendance.

Of these awards, the most prestigious were presented to Mrs. Kathyanne Chase, who emerged as the Employee of the Year 2003 and Ms. Paula Pitt, who earned the title of Supervisor of the Year 2003.

Edging out a combined field of eighteen contenders, Mrs. Chase and Ms. Pitt copped the top prizes, having amassed the most points in specific areas of assessment by their supervisors and in the Total Quality scheme, undergone an interview and completed a questionnaire, which was reviewed by a panel comprising the Company's Human Resources Advisors and a number of external examiners.

This is a repeat victory for Mrs. Chase who, since joining the Company in 1991, earned her first Employee of the Year title in 2001. Having started off as a Clerk Typist, Mrs. Chase worked her way to the position of Secretary in the Customer Services Department, where she types correspondence; inputs and routes data in accordance with the Company's Electronic Document Management System; prepares work orders and arranges various training sessions within the Department. Mrs. Chase is recognized throughout the Company as an employee who strives for service excellence and is always willing to go the extra mile.

Paula Pitt joined the Company in 1990 in the Materials Management Section. In 1991, she was transferred to the Payroll Section as a Payroll Clerk. Over the next decade she worked her way through the section, becoming its Supervisor in 2001. Ms. Pitt and her team are responsible for paying the wages of approximately 260 employees and pensioners, along with coordinating the information related to the Company's absence management system.

Ms. Pitt's years of service have been characterized by steady growth and the development of leadership qualities, which have earned her the admiration of her superiors, staff and peers.

The Barbados Light & Power Company takes pride in the quality of its employees whose main focus is customer satisfaction. In delivering the Feature Address, Mr. Andrew Gittens, Managing Director, congratulated all the award winners and thanked them for their dedicated service to the Company. He praised the efforts of employees whose contribution and good work serving our customers has earned the respect with which the public of Barbados regards our Company.

Awards were presented in the areas as follows:

 Long Service Awards

10 Years

Charles Best, Winfield Best,Colin Brewster, Kevin Burgess, Dawn-Marie Clarke, James Coppin, Joseph Griffith, Roger Thompson

15 Years

Mark Atkins, Wayne Austin, Denise Barker, Richard Beckles, Margaret Blackman, Curtis Brewster, Victor Browne, Edward Cummings, Barry Davis, Ernest Darlington, Ralston Gittens, Yvette Harris, Kerry Inniss, Barry Jackman, Bonita Medford, Curtis Miller, Dawn Roach, Bertram Rouse, Arlette Sisnett, Steve Trotman, Wesley Trotman, Marva Weekes

20 Years

Richardson Boyce, Reginald Burnett, Joycelyn Clarke, Marion Clarke, Tyrone Clarke, Junior Cumberbatch, Ricardo Edwards, Jeffrey Foster, Jeanne Gittens, Vernol Griffith, Willis Hall, Patricia Haynes, Norma Johnson, Reginald Lewis, Carl Moore, Ronald Roach, Kenifer Small, Derrick Smith, Jean Straughn, Peter Taitt, Jeffrey Thompson, Steve Trotman, Marilyn Walker, Rodney Waltress, Hayden Watson

30 Years

Philip Bayley, David Braithwaite, Lena Bryan, Winston Butcher, Lewis Daniel, Kenrick Gill, George Inniss, Fitzalbert Licorish, Ronville Sparrock, Anthony Toppin

35 Years

Veldene Bradshaw, Sheila Walcott, Marlene Walrond

45 Years

Gladstone Dyall


Darren Brooks, Gerald Dawson, Marilyn Walker, Mervin Welch

Other Awards

Special Appreciation Award

Dr. Philip Corbin

Appreciation Awards ERC Members

Carol Griffith, Dawn Roach, Grantley Haynes

Uniform Committee

Joy Ann Thomas-Nurse, Laura Stanton

Perfect Attendance

Junior Adams, Frederick Adamson, Alva Baird, Philip Bayley, Elizabeth Beckles, David Boyce, Joan Browne, Marva Browne, Norman Burrowes, Colvin Bynoe, Trudi Clarke, Philip Corbin, Stephen Daniel, Edwin Davis, Kenrick Gill, Evan Goddard, Keith Grannum, Johann Greaves, Adrian Greaves, James Greenidge, Jonathan Griffith, Robert Harewood, Nigel Harris, Sanderson Holder, Wendell Holder, Tyrone Holder, Vernon Hoyte, Antoinette Humphrey, Gail Inniss, Linda Jordan, Gerry King, Kerry Lucas, Everton Maynard, Cyprian Moore, Victor Moore,  Eleanor Morgan, Harry Nichols, Lena Norville-Williams, Paula Pitt, Ervine Prescod, Sandra Reid, Carl Roach, Winston Sandiford, Anthony Seale, Winston Sealy, Albert St. John, Jeffrey Thompson, Sheila Walcott, Willoughby Walcott,   Jefferson Wason, Hayden Watson, Ainsley Wilson

Safety Awards Work Habits (Support Staff)

Sophia Padmore

Safety Awards Work Habits (Cust. Services Field Staff)

Lindberg Dalrymple

Safety Awards Work Habits(Planning Field Staff)

Winston Sealy

Safety Awards Work Habits (Administration Field Staff)

Ivor Gilkes

Safety Awards Work Habits (Distribution)

Peter Taitt

Safety Awards Work Habits (Distribution Team)

Claudius Taitt & Edison Proctor

Safety Awards Work Habits (Generation)

Wayne Corbin

 Safety Award-Vehicles Accident Free Drivers (5 Years)

David Allsopp, Carlos Baptiste, Berkley Blades, Ian Bridgeman, Cindy Callender, Wilfred Clarke, Thelston Culpepper, Ernest Darlington, Hugh Fitt, Andrew Foster, Hughson Freeman, Kenrick Gill, Christopher Gittens, Dennis Gooding, Jefferson Goodman, Keith Grannum, Ricky Greaves, Calvin Griffith, Sherwin Herbert, Timothy Hoyte, Larson Hunte, Barry Jackman, Curtis Marville, Lionel Maxwell, David McClean, John Payne, James Pile, Edison Proctor, Edward Simpson,  Ronald Stanford, Hugh Thompson, Jefferson Wason, Robert Waterman

Accident Free Drivers (10 Years)

Roger Alleyne, Oswald Bovell, Pedro Bowen, Wade Boyce, Joseph Caddle, Daniel Collymore, Carlos Cumberbatch, Joseph Depeiza, Grantley Gill, Jerome Jordan, Ronald King, Dave Lynton, Mark Skeete, Claudius Taitt  

Accident Free Drivers (15 Years)

Dennis Best, Mark Bovell, Barry Davis, Matthew Gay, Edwin Lorde, Joel Moore, Anderson Nervais, Ronald Roach, Jefferson Stuart

Accident Free Drivers (20 Years)

Reginald Burnett, David Gill, Howard Griffith, Julian Roach

TQ Awards

Donna Fields-Brown, Claire Stanford, Majella Gooding, Rachael Taitt, James Greenidge, Andrea Edey, Adrian Greaves, Charles Harris

Volunteer Award

Wendell Holder

 Most Outstanding Employee (Support Staff) 

Winston Harewood

Darnley Williams Senior Award - Most Outstanding Employee (Distribution)

Peter Taitt  

Most Outstanding Employee (Generation)

Nicole Jones  

Most Outstanding Employee (Customer Services)

Kathyanne Chase

 Most Outstanding Supervisor (Support Staff)

Paula Pitt

Most Outstanding Supervisor (Distribution)

James Greenidge  

Most Outstanding Supervisor (Generation)

Trevor Gittens  

Most Outstanding Supervisor (Customer Services)

Rodney Dottin